Australian Open Tennis

The Australian Open is an incredibly competitive tennis tournament held every year in January at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia, right in the center of the country. The tournament is the second of the four major grand slam tennis tournaments held each year, following the US Open, Wimbledon, and the French Open. It’s been around since 1992 and has been one of the most attended tournaments in the world. Last year was the first year that the top four players in the world were scheduled to play in the event, which featured the likes of Roger Federer, Serena Williams, Kim Clijsters, and Andy Murray.

Unlike tennis in many other countries, in Australia they’ve actually implemented some fairly fair rules to the game, including a no serve rule and a three-set standard. Both players now get a freely serviceable break when their rally is nearing the end of the court. The set rule basically prevents a player from serving twice in a rally, though they are permitted to do so if they believe it will help their team. This has helped the Aussies to excel at this tournament because they’re now favored in sets rather than singles.

While tennis in the country has come and gone in the past, it’s still a major event down under, ranking third behind Formula One and Horse Racing. If you don’t make it to Melbourne for the opening event, you’ll be missing out on one of the best Australian Open tennis tournaments on the planet. There’re also the Melbourne Cup, the Australian Open, the Adelaide International Event, and a slew of other major sports events as well. No matter what your schedule is like, there’s plenty of great things you can get involved in to really experience all that Australia has to offer.